Stay In Touch

The Ann Castle Award

The Ann Castle Award acknowledges outstanding effort or achievement in the field of development research and related fields, which may include special projects, articles in development-related publications, or other efforts that have served to promote or assist others in the field of development research. It may also recognize exceptional effort or achievement that has served the development mission of the nominee's (or applicant's) organization.


This award honors Ann Castle:


A native of Michigan, Ann Castle earned a bachelor's degree from Smith College and a master's degree from Harvard Divinity School.  In 1988, she became Director of Development Research at Wellesley College.  The following year, she became Director of Development Research at Harvard University, where she remained until 1997.  In 1997, Ann became Director of Development Research at Hamilton College in Clinton, New York.  For the last two years of her life, Ann worked as an independent consultant in Development Research, working for at Microsoft, the United Nations Foundation, and the White House Conference on Philanthropy.  Ann passed away on February 22, 2000 after a brief illness.

Ann was the president of the Association of Professional Researchers for Advancement (APRA) from 1992 to 1993 and was the editor of the Philanthropic Digest.  A nationally recognized authority on women and philanthropy, Ann compiled The Women in Philanthropy website which is now archived by the University of Michigan.  In the late 1990s, when Slate magazine was looking for someone to compile a ranking of philanthropists that, in Ted Turner’s words, would "honor the generous and shame the stingy," the editors turned to Ann.  She quickly developed a listing that in December 1996 was published as the Slate 60, a listing that continues to the present.

The Award includes a $250.00 cash prize; a one-year NEDRA membership; and free admission to the NEDRA Conference.


NOTE: Current NEDRA board members are not eligible.


Click here to apply!

Learn more about the previous Ann Castle Award recipients here:

 2002  Judith Rottenberg
 2003  Shelley Brown
 2004  David Eberly
 2005  Sandra Larkin
 2006  Helen Brown
 2007  Elizabeth Crabtree
 2008  Valerie Anastasio
 2009  Paul Dakin
 2010  Charlie Carr
 2011  Marianne Pelletier
 2012  Joseph Donnelly Jr.
 2013  Sarah Fernandez
 2014  Heather Reisz
 2015 Nancy Faughnan
 2016 Dina Zelleke
 2017 Jill Meister

Home | About NEDRA 

Sponsors | Membership 

Programs | News | Job Center

Copyright 2017 New England Development Research Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software